LivingEars Podcast Volume Six – Top 10 of 2008

After 6 months of bringing some of the best music of the year it is now time to recognize the top songs that made 2008 great. These are the 10 songs I kept going back to over and over, the 10 songs that have forever made their mark on 2008 and definitely some of the songs I’ll be going back to the most throughout 2009.

1. The Hold Steady – Constructive Summer
2. Titus Andronicus – Upon Viewing Brueghel’s “Landscape With the Fall of Icarus”
3. Okkervil River – Lost Coastlines
4. Friendly Fires – Paris (Aeroplane Remix)
5. No Age – Teen Creeps
6. The Dodos – Jodi
7. The Raveonettes – Aly, Walk With Me
8. Portishead – Machine Gun
9. Deerhunter – Nothing Ever Happened
10. Hercules & Love Affair – Blind

I wanted to highlight some of the songs that I chose for the top 51 of 2008 as well so you will hear a couple of songs that you might not have otherwise heard before.

Entire playlist is in the comments.

Just as a reminder, if you want to stay up to date with the site I’ll send (very) occasional emails. You can leave your address in the email box on the right of this page or you can come straight to the Google group.

Happy 2009.

LivingEars Podcast Volume Four

And so it continues……

Pay special attention to First Aid Kit, Ungdomskulen, Fan Death, and oh what the hell… I love all these songs. I’m very excited to get this fourth podcast done, it seems like its been a while in the making. I have enough songs I want to share that I could do another one today. I’m debating just throwing those songs out there so you can grab them if you want them. Still debating that.

  •       LivingEars Podcast Volume Four

    (Click the RSS icon at the top right to subscribe to this and future editions)

LCD Soundsystem – Losing My Edge
Hot Chip – One Pure Thought
Atlas Sound – Holiday
Deerhunter – Nothing Ever Happened
Okkervil River – Lost Coastlines
Okkervil River – Singer Songwriter
Daniel Johnston – Etiquette
First Aid Kit – Tiger Mountain Peasant Song (Fleet Foxes Cover)
Margot & the Nuclear So and So’s – Broad Ripple (Demo)
Frightened Rabbit – Fast Blood
Langhorne Slim – Restless
AC/DC – Let There Be Rock
Ungdomskulen – Modern Drummer
Crystal Antlers – Parting Song for the Torn Sky
Mogwai – Batcat
Fan Death – Veronica’s Veil
The Ting Tings – That’s Not My Name (LA Riots Remix)
LCD Soundsystem – All My Friends

LivingEars Podcast Volume One

LivingEars is proud to present the first edition of our Podcast!

Volume One features songs by The Dodos, Kid Cudi, MGMT, Alkaline Trio, The Faint, Beck, color commentary by yours truly and much more excitment sure to get your head bobbin.

  •       LivingEars Podcast Volume One

    (Click the RSS icon at the right to subscribe to this and future editions)

    The Dodos – Eyelids
    Port O’Brien – I Woke Up Today
    Virgins – Rich Girls
    Beck – Chemtrails
    The Faint – The Geeks Were Right
    Battles – Leyendecker
    Crystal Castles – Alice Practice
    Music Go Music – Light of Love
    The Ataris – Boys of Summer
    The Hold Steady – Stay Positive
    Alkaline Trio – Do You Wanna Know?
    MGMT – Time to Pretend
    MGMT – Electric Feel (Justice Remix)
    Kid Cudi – Day ‘N Nite (Crookers Remix)
    Busy P – To Protect and Entertain (Crookers Remix)