Konx-om-Pax – Cascada (Aug 11th) by Planet Mu Records

This summer Tom Scholefield a.k.a. Konx-om-Pax will release the very welcome ‘Refresher’ EP, his follow up to last year’s album, the popular ‘Caramel’, which explored and disassembled the afterglow of warm rave memory.

The EP kicks off with the joyous actual rave of Cascada, a piece of sunny techno with a modulating, catchy stab riff over strong kicks. Next up, ‘Species with Amnesia’ starts of with hazy bells and synthetic, warped bird-like sounds, before dropping into a chugging Italo disco bassline and a relaxed synthline which snakes around the chords in unexpected ways as the track progresses.

The first of two remixes, the µ-Ziq mix of ‘Caramel’, is recast to maximise it’s airiness, its soft chords building into epic slabs of choral sound over loose breaks. The EP finishes on the slowly evolving dawn ambience of Huerco S.’s ‘Extended Stay – The Morning Version’ of ‘Beatrice’s Visit’, eleven pure minutes of gentle bliss to get lost in.

Stray – Blink (APHALP001) by Stray

Gradients (APHALP001 )
2×12″ LP // 21st April 2017 // Astrophonica

Astrophonica first compilation LP *GRADIENTS* featuring @Fracture-official, @dbridge_exitrecords, @DJEarlTeckz, @OmUnit under his Philip D Kick guise, @Sam_Binga, @Sully-e64, @Moresounds, @Stray, Neptune, @unclelew, Tusais, @TouchySubject and @Tehbis.

A1. Stray – Blink
A2. Moresounds – Warriah
A3. Touchy Subject – Cosmic Tales
B1. Sam Binga – BFT
B2. Fracture – Back Up In This
B3. Lewis James – Snook
C1. Fracture & Neptune – Whatever
C2. dBridge – dB vs 45 King
C3. Sully – We’re Here
D1. Sully – Helios (Philip D Kick Remix)
D2. Tusais – Blakout
D3. DJ Earl x Fracture – Statisfyee
D4. Tehbis – Alphabet Ooz